## ALABAMA FIRE COLLEGE and PERSONNEL STANDARDS & EDUCATION COMMISSION CERTIFICATION CANDIDATE INFORMATION SHEET

CDP's Hazardous Materials Operations and Hazardous Materials Technician courses are eligible for certification testing conducted through the Alabama Fire College and Personnel Standards & Education Commission. Certification test administration occurs at CDP immediately following the conclusion of the Hazardous Materials Operations and Hazardous Materials Technician courses.

## What are the steps to receive certification?

## **<u>Step 1</u>**: Complete the AFC's registration process for certification testing

• Complete the enrollment process during the course at CDP (normally 1<sup>st</sup> day of class)

## **<u>Step 2:</u>** Submit Prerequisite Documentation:

- Hazardous Materials Operations:
  - prerequisite is certification in Hazardous Materials Awareness level (NFPA 472 or 1072).
- Hazardous Materials Technician:
  - prerequisite is certification in Hazardous Materials Awareness & Operations levels (NFPA 472 or 1072)
- $\circ$  This documentation must be on file with the Alabama Fire College prior to certification
- o Send prerequisite documentation to <u>Certification@alabamafirecollege.org</u>

<u>Step 3:</u> Complete the Skills Examination: The candidate must successfully complete a skills evaluation (working as a member of a team and/or completing individual skills), to a minimum of 70% competency and successful completion of all critical points.

<u>Step 4:</u> Complete the Written Examination: The candidate must perform to a minimum 70% competency on a 100question examination. One retest after 30 days and within one year of course end date is allowed.

*Certification Issuance:* Certification will be issued when the following are completed:

- AFC Registration complete and certification test fee (\$30) paid
- Prerequisite documentation provided and approved by AFC
- Passing score on both the cognitive exam & the practical skills exam

*Please note:* Scores/Certifications will not be released until all fees/documentation is received by the Alabama Fire College (this includes completed exam and skills documentation from CDP; this can take up to 2 weeks from course completion)

*How Do I Retest?*-The candidate has one year from the course end date to retake the test. One retest is allowed. Students failing the retest must retake the course.

- Retesting fee is \$30.00
- Retests are only administered by use of an approved AFC Proctor in a professional setting.
- $\circ$  ~ Contact the AFC Certification ~ Unit for information or visit our website for Proctor ~
  - Resources/information; certification@alabamafirecollege.org

http://www.alabamafirecollege.org/topmenu/certification/proctor-resources.

*What if I do not receive my test score or certificate?* Students failing to receive either their grade or certificate should contact the AFC's Certification Unit. Telephone requests for grade or certificate information cannot be honored due to Federal privacy laws – all requests must be made in writing.

*What is accreditation and how does it apply to certification courses?* The Alabama Fire College and Personnel Standards & Education Commission is accredited by both the National Board on Fire Service Professional Qualifications (Pro Board) and the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). Accreditation serves as an affirmation that the certification courses of the Alabama Fire College meet the standards of excellence as defined by the national accrediting body.

Students receiving certification will receive a certificate with the Alabama, Pro Board and IFSAC seal/number of certification. Certification is automatically posted to these entities within 30 days from certificate issuance. Please check with your local certifying agency for reciprocity.

 Alabama Fire College - 2501 Phoenix Drive - Tuscaloosa, AL 35405
 1-800-241-2467

 certification@alabamafirecollege.org
 AFC website www.alabamafirecollege.org